EISF Grand Marshal nominees needed

BLACKFOOT, Idaho (KIFI/KIDK) - The Eastern Idaho State Fair Board of Directors is looking for a Grand Marshal to represent the EISF at the 2018 Opening Day Parade.

This special person is chosen based on their lifetime service to the Eastern Idaho State Fair and/or the community.

Nominees must be located in or affiliated with the 16 counties that comprise the EISF: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Clark, Custer, Franklin, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Oneida, Power and Teton.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year, and forms must be turned in by May 15 for the nominee to be considered for this year’s fair.

Nomination forms can be found HERE.

The Grand Marshal is announced every year in July.

In 2004, Juanita Teton was chosen as Eastern Idaho State Fair’s Grand Marshal. She was a lifelong resident of the Fort Hall and Blackfoot area and was known for her tremendous beadwork and many buckskin dresses that she made for her granddaughters. Juanita was well-known and respected by the Shoshone-Bannock tribes and by the people of Blackfoot, Pocatello and the Idaho Falls area that is why she was chosen to be the 2004 Grand Marshal.

Other past Grand Marshals include:

  • 1970 - LaSalle Pocatello from Fort Hall, great grandson of Chief Pocatello, for whom the Bannock County city is named after. (see attached picture from The Blackfoot News, 1970 – LaSalle and Louella Pocatello prior to 1970 Eastern Idaho State Fair)
  • 2000 – Randy‘L Teton, a Ft. Hall native Shoshone woman who posed for the image of Sacagawea on the Sacagawea dollar coin, first issued in 2000. She’s the only woman besides Martha Washington to appear on US currency, the only Native-American woman to pose for an American coin, and the only living person whose image appears on American currency.
  • 2005 – Dwain H. Stufflebeam, longtime owner and businessperson of Title Financial Corporation.  The over a century old family owned business headquartered in Blackfoot has grown its reach to Southeastern Idaho, Montana, Wyoming and Washington.
  • Past Fair Managers:  1988 - Roy Howell; 2002 -Kathy Gavin; and 2011 - Doris Wallace
  • 2008 – Longtime Fair Concessionaire - Teriyaki Chicken Rice Bowls,  and business person Jerry Hong
  • 2013 - Livestock Secretaries, Darlene Hatch and Nancy Palmer who have worked at the fair for over 50 years. 

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories

Top Stories