59 local students receive Mayor's Scholarship Funds

IDAHO FALLS, Idaho (KIFI/KIDK) - Fifty-nine local students received more than $65,000 in scholarships from this year's Mayor's Scholarship Fund.

The fund supports awards for students who plan a college-bound path at an Idaho higher education institution.

Thirty graduating seniors received the Senior Scholarship of $1,500, and six seniors were offered a scholarship through the Mayor’s Scholarship Fund by CEI while two seniors were offered a scholarship by ISU College of Arts & Letters. 

Twenty students, grades 8-11, received the Mayor’s Promise Award of $250.

Four seniors who are past Promise Award recipients received the $2,500 Legacy Senior Award. The Mayor Jared Fuhriman Community Service Award of $2,500 was awarded to one student.

Below is a list of scholarships and recipients:

Mayor Jared Fuhriman Community Service Award: Kayla Tran, Hillcrest High School

Senior Award Recipients 

CEI Scholarship Recipients

Damaris Fernandez, Bonneville High School

Dakota Mitchell, Bonneville High School

Dylan Cook, Bonneville High School

Raegan Landon, Bonneville High School

Lauren Arfmann, Bonneville High School

Rocio Rojas, Homeschool

Alyssa Villa, Bonneville High School

Brooke Waters, Bonneville High School

Kylee Rainey, Bonneville High School

Victoria Price, Bonneville High School

Edith Morillon, Bonneville High School

Joanna Gonzales, Bonneville High School

Chloey Hall, Bonneville High School

ISU College of Arts & Letters Recipients

Yisel Mendieta Chavez, Bonneville High School

Tylee Eck, Bonneville High School

Tycen Biggs, Bonneville High School

Trevor Poulson, Emerson High School

Zoe Ricks, Emerson High School

Promise Award Recipients 

Brecklyn Sheldon, Emerson High School

Jordan Powell, Eagle Rock Middle School

Allyson Boyd, Emerson High School

Megan Bentz, Eagle Rock Middle School

Garrett Corbridge, Hillcrest High School

Jaxon Ricks, Rocky Mountain Middle School

Camryn Giles, Hillcrest High School

Isaac Davidson, Sandcreek Middle School

Taylor Lance, Hillcrest High School

Brianda Pineda, Bonneville High School

Tyler Taysom, Hillcrest High School

Kady Hawkins, Bonneville High School

Maddie Landers, Hillcrest High School

Emily Hansen, Bonneville High School

Hannah Hale, Hillcrest HS/Bonneville Online

Brynley Jackson, Bonneville High School

Mariela Guadarrama, Idaho Falls High School

Cameron Ball, Bonneville High School

Whitney Raymond, Idaho Falls High School

Tristan Smith, Bonneville High School

Kate West, Idaho Falls High School

Kylee Chamberlain, Bonneville High School

Jacob Brower, Lincoln High School

Sadie Trubl, Bonneville High School

Carter Josephson, Skyline High School

Bailey Peterson, Technical Careers High School

Sydney Nelson, Technical Careers High School

Travis McKnight, Technical Careers High School

Sydnie Eldridge, Watersprings High School

Kirsi Miller, Hillcrest High School

Zane Holliday, Homeschool

Amy Olsen, Hillcrest High School

Legacy Senior Awards

Jessica Gutierrez, Idaho Falls High School

Kenidee Casper, Bonneville High School

Abigail Droegemueller, Taylor’s Crossing PCS

Joshua Truesdell, Hillcrest High School

Vincent Acosta, Taylor’s Crossing PCS

Lillian Reed, Technical Careers High School

Veronica Jackman, Compass Academy

Maria Flores, Skyline High School


The scholarships will be awarded at the 13th Annual Mayor’s Scholarship Fund ceremony on Wednesday, March 28, at the Colonial Theater in Idaho Falls.

A reception limited to award recipients, parents, sponsors and school administrators will be held at 6:00 p.m. followed by a public award ceremony at 7:00 p.m. The award ceremony is free and open to the public.

In 2006, then Idaho Falls Mayor Jared Fuhriman, in partnership with the District 91 and District 93 Education Foundations, established the Mayor’s Scholarship Fund that has since provided 389 scholarships totaling more than $395,000 to area students.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories

Top Stories