KIFI Top Story

LINE 2.0 members named

BOISE, Idaho - Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter announced appointments to the second Leadership in Nuclear Energy Commission on Tuesday.

The mission of "LINE 2.0" is to implement and oversee progress on recommendations from its predecessor.

The original LINE Commission was given a year to assess and quantify the opportunities and challenges associated with hosting the Idaho National Laboratory and a significant nuclear manufacturing and services sector that has emerged as a result of the U.S. Department of Energy site. That commission wrapped up its initial scope of work at the end of January, submitting its final report to the governor.

One of the more prominent recommendations of the original LINE Commission was that the state consider helping the federal government solve its nuclear waste storage problem.

"Our goal is to fully explore Idaho's opportunities for leveraging the expertise and groundbreaking research of the premier U.S. Department of Energy lab toward creating new jobs and expanding our energy and technology sectors," Otter said in reference to LINE 2.0. "Amid fiscal and political uncertainty, we want to sustain and grow the Idaho National Laboratory's mission while helping our citizens realize the greatest economic benefit."

Otter named the following people as members of LINE 2.0:

- Jeffery Sayer – Director, Idaho Department of Commerce (chairman)
- Dr. Steven Aumeier – Director, Center for Advanced Energy Studies (CAES)
- Larry Craig – Retired, United States Senate
- Bart Davis – Majority Leader, Idaho State Senate
- Jeff Feeler – President and CEO, U.S. Ecology
- Dr. Howard Grimes – Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Idaho State University
- John Grossenbacher – Director, Idaho National Laboratory
- John Kotek – Partner, Gallatin Public Affairs
- Dr. Mark Rudin – Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Boise State University
- Dr. Robert Smith – Associate Vice-President, University of Idaho
- Jeff Thompson – Member, Idaho House of Representatives
- Mike Virtue – Mayor, City of Blackfoot
- Nathan Small – Chairman, Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
- Steve Laflin – President and CEO, International Isotopes

These are the ex-officio members:

- Scott Bedke – Speaker, Idaho House of Representatives
- Brian Whitlock – Idaho National Laboratory
- Tom Perry – Legal Counsel, Office of the Governor
- John Revier – Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of U.S. Congressman Mike Simpson

LINE Commission 2.0 members will have full voting rights, with ex-officio members (associated with LINE 2.0 by virtue of their positions) serving in an advisory capacity. Several additional appointments to LINE 2.0 are being considered and may be announced in the coming weeks, according to a news release from the governor's office.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories

Top Stories