KIFI Top Story

Teton County voters decide primary races

34 percent of registered voters turn out at polls

JACKSON, Wyo. - Jackson and Teton County, Wyoming, voters have set the stage for November's general elections. Thirty-four percent of registered county voters turned out at the primary election polls Tuesday.

Contested legislative races will feature Natalia Macker (D) and Marti Halverson (R) in House District 22. Incumbent Jim Darwiche (R) will face former County Commissioner Andy Schwartz (D).

Republicans and Democrats determined three candidates each to seek seats on the Board of County Commissioners.  Democrats selected Mark Newcomb, Smokey Rhea and Ben Ellis.  They will face Republicans Paul Vogelheim, Paul Perry and Reynolds Pomeroy.  In unofficial returns, Pomeroy edged out Mark Obringer by one vote, 1152 to 1151.  A mandatory recount was expected Wednesday afternoon.

Jackson voters selected two candidates for mayor. Sara Flitner and Mark Nowlin seek to replace retiring Mayor Mark Barron.

Voters approved five SPET (special purpose excise tax) tax issues.  The sixth, which would have spent $1,500,000 to remodel the Fairgrounds Pavilion was defeated. 

Other county pairings were also decided.  For County Coroner Brent "Doc"  Blue (D) will face Russell Nelson (R). Anne Comeaux (D) will face Debbie Hassler (R) for Clerk of the District Court. And Andy Cavallaro (D) will face Dawn Johnson (R) for county assessor.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories

Top Stories