Governor names education task force

BOISE, Idaho (KIFI/KIDK) - A number of eastern Idahoans have been named to the "Our Kids, Idaho's Future" Task Force for Public Education.

Governor Brad Little said the group will formulate a five-year blueprint for improvement and investment in Idaho's K-12 public education system.

Little calls the concept a broad-abased, collaborative process to examine the system and create a system that improves achievement for students and accountability to parents and taxpayers.

He believes part of that goal will include identifying a system for measuring student success and a framework for recruiting and training teachers.  

Those named to the committee Wednesday included:

Teachers, School Administrators, and Education Stakeholders

Debbie Critchfield, President, Idaho State Board of Education— Co-Chair
Sherri Ybarra, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Marc Beitia, American Falls High School teacher and 2019 Idaho Teacher of the Year
Kari Overall, President, Idaho Education Association
Jody Hendrickx, Trustee, St. Maries School District and Idaho School Boards Association (ISBA) Vice President
Jennifer Parkins, Trustee, Genessee Joint School District and ISBA President
Erin McCandless, Idaho State Parent Teacher Association President
Mary Ann Ranells, Superintendent, West Ada School District
Luke Schroeder, Superintendent, Twin Falls School District
Cheryl Charlton, Superintendent, Idaho Digital Learning Academy
Pete Koehler, retired Chief Deputy Superintendent and former Nampa High School Principal and Superintendent

Business Leaders

Bill Gilbert, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Caprock, Boise — Co-Chair
Terry Ryan, CEO, BLUUM, Boise
Kurt Liebich, CEO, Redbuilt, Boise
Matt Van Vleet, Vice President, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Lewiston
Katherine Hart, Associate General Counsel, Melaleuca, Idaho Falls
Shawn Keough, Executive Director, Associated Logging Contractors, Coeur d'Alene


Senator Chuck Winder, Majority Leader, Idaho Senate
Senator Dean Mortimer, Idaho Senate Education Committee
Senator Janie Ward-Engelking, Idaho Senate Education Committee
Representative Mat Erpelding, Minority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
Representative Jason Monks, Assistant Majority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
Representative Lance Clow, Idaho House Education Committee
Representative Gary Marshall, Idaho House Education Committee
Representative Wendy Horman, Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee

You can learn more about the task force objectives here.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories

Top Stories